A committee is made up of a small group of Assembly Members from different parties who look at particular issues in more detail. They often seek input from external expert advisors and members of the community before making decisions.

New committees can be set up for specific purposes throughout the term of the Assembly.

The first committee set up after an election is always the Business Committee. One of its most important jobs is to draw up the timetable for Plenary business, set times available for committee meetings and political group meetings. They also decide Assembly recess dates and dates for Welsh Government Ministers to be asked questions in Plenary. They also suggest the titles and responsibilities of the other committees.

For more information visit the Committee pages on the main Assembly website.

Find out information and take part in current committee inquiries in our What’s happening in the Assembly section.

You can catch up on past Committee meetings or watch live on

Children, Young People and Education Committee Lynne Neagle AM Welsh Labour @SeneddCYPE
Climate Change, Environment and Rural Affairs Committee Mark Reckless AM UK Independence Party @SeneddCCERA
Culture, Welsh Language and Communications Committee Bethan Jenkins AM Plaid Cymru  


Economy, Infrastructure and Skills Committee Russell George AM Welsh Conservatives  


Equality, Local Government and Communities Committee John Griffiths AM Welsh Labour  



Health, Social Care and Sport Committee Dr Dai Lloyd AM Plaid Cymru  



External Affairs and Additional Legislation Committee


David Rees AM Welsh Labour


Constitutional and Legislative Affairs Committee Huw Irranca-Davies AM Welsh Labour @SeneddCLA


Petitions Committee Mike Hedges AM Welsh Labour  



Scrutiny of the First Minister Committee Ann Jones AM Deputy Presiding Officer
Standards of Conduct Committee Jayne Bryant AM Welsh Labour
Public Accounts Committee Nick Ramsay AM Welsh Conservatives @SeneddPAC
Finance Committee Simon Thomas AM Plaid Cymru @SeneddFinance